The CUSO “Gender Studies” doctoral programme is a platform of exchange for doctoral students whose work encompasses a gender perspective. While maintaining a stream of continuity with the “Ecole doctoral lémanique (2002-2008) and the “Ecole doctorale romande” in Gender Studies (2008-2011), this new doctoral programme will consolidate knowledge as well as widen the institutional and disciplinary scope. This doctoral programme will enable us to pursue the following goals:

a.  The CUSO doctoral programme will provide the opportunity to assess the various contributions of an interdisciplinary approach, which is the foundation of gender studies.

b.   These sessions will provide a space for exchange and dialogue between doctoral students and colleagues, who are more advanced in their academic career and, subsequently, can delve deeper into the theoretical and methodological aspects of Gender Studies.  

c.  The CUSO doctoral programme also creates a network for young researchers not only regionally, but also at the national and international level.

d.  These sessions will permit doctoral students to train their communication skills and enable them to promote their research through individual and collective publications. 


The CUSO “Gender Studies” doctoral programme unites five institutions in Switzerland (IHEID (direction), University of Fribourg, University of Geneva, University of Lausanne and Neuchâtel). It is also affiliated with the Gender Studies Network of Swiss Doctoral Schools “Gender Studies CH”.


Registration for the programme is open to those who are enrolled in one of the five member institutions and whose doctoral research incorporates a gender perspective.. Registration will be made all year via mycuso.


Beginning of the Programme: 1 January 2012

Links for Institutional Partnerships:

IHEID, Programme on Gender and Global Change:

University of Fribourg:

University of Geneva:

University of Lausanne: 

University of Neuchâtel:


Yali Chen, University of Geneva


Prof. Delphine Gardey, University of Geneva

Direction Committee

IHEID (direction): Prof. Elisabeth Prügl (Political Science and International Relations).

University of Fribourg: Prof. Véronique Dasen (History).

University of Geneva: Prof. Marylène Lieber (Sociology).

University of Neuchâtel: Prof. Núria Sanchez-Mira (Sociology).